A Former Clinton Aide on Embracing the Sanders Movement

How the Trump years drove this one-time establishment insider to call for ‘nonviolent political revolution’

Peter Daou
GEN

--

Photos: Stephen Maturen, Kevin Hagen/Getty Images

AAbout 15 years ago, following a decade-long career in the music business, I became the “blog guy” for John Kerry’s presidential campaign, working out of his war room. I entered the political arena as a netroots activist, part of the progressive online community that arose in response to the Bush presidency at the dawn of our current media age. Then I moved to the inside, (perhaps naively) believing I could help change the system from within.

That led, in 2006, to what would become a long association with the Clintons.

Although I disagreed with Hillary Clinton on a number of issues, most notably the Iraq war, I believed that electing her president would be a historic step forward for women’s rights. I became her digital media adviser in 2006 and also worked for the Clinton Global Initiative for several years. By 2008, I was hired as the Clinton campaign’s Internet Director. I was in the heart of the system. The “establishment,” as Bernie Sanders would call it.

When Clinton ran again in 2016, I was not part of her official team, but I viewed her second campaign as a logical extension of my mission to…

--

--

Peter Daou
GEN
Writer for

Political adviser and activist. Twitter: @peterdaou