LIFE IN THE TIME OF CORONAVIRUS

The Home Health Aide Who’s Scared Their Elderly Clients Won’t Survive

The latest in our series about how this pandemic affects our lives, our loved ones, our work, and our way of life

Nina Zweig
GEN
Published in
5 min readMar 27, 2020

--

Photo illustration. Image sources: Dean Mitchell/Getty Images, 4x-image/Getty Images.

Life in the Time of Coronavirus is a new GEN series where we are interviewing people across the country who have had their lives upended or are experiencing the stress of the unknown.

An anonymous home health aide in the Buffalo, New York, area talks about losing work due to the pandemic and the toll it’s taken on her clients. This article was reported in partnership with Type Investigations.

I’I’ve been in the health care industry since I was 17 years old. This has been my first job and my only job. I’ve never ventured out into anything else. I’ve always loved what I do, and it’s been 34 years. I’ve worked in nursing homes and assisted living facilities. I’ve done in-home care and worked in hospitals. I worked in hospice, but it got to the point where I couldn’t do it anymore because I couldn’t take watching people die. That just got to be too much for me because I became attached and then had to let them go. I don’t know how to separate my feelings from my work. It’s just who I am. My joy is taking care of other…

--

--

Nina Zweig
GEN
Writer for

Researcher and fact-checker at Type Investigations. @ninazweig.