The Way We Work Now

I’m Training as a New Doctor in the Shadow of a Pandemic

My generation of physicians is entering the field at a historic moment. Covid will likely follow us through our careers.

Gabriel Redel-Traub, MD
GEN
Published in
5 min readJun 29, 2020

--

A medical worker enters Bellevue hospital during the coronavirus pandemic. Photo: Noam Galai/Getty Images

The transition from medical student to physician, even in normal times, is a profound one; Covid-19 projects a whole new improbability to this moment. I graduated from medical school early to briefly join the ranks of New York City frontline workers in April, as the pandemic reached its peak. I had dreamed of being a doctor for more than half my life, and as a college student volunteering in a hospital, I conjured up gallant stories of my first weeks as a physician. Instead, Covid-19 ruthlessly dashed my expectations.

The gravity of this moment is now starting to sink in as the majority of medical residents start their training on July 1. I’m among a class of more than 35,000 other newly minted physicians who are entering hospitals across the country this summer amidst the worst global pandemic in over a hundred years. It’s not lost on us that we sit on the precipice of a major change in our lives during a critical moment in history.

Though it may seem unflattering to admit, I take some delight in joining…

--

--

Gabriel Redel-Traub, MD
GEN
Writer for

Young Physician interested in Cardiology, Reader, Writer, Bicycler. @RedelTraub on Twitter for more writings and ramblings