Parenting And Society

In Losing The Village We Abandoned Society’s Parents

Increasingly independent lifestyles aren’t good for all of us, and especially not for families.

Rhiannin Bunney
GEN
Published in
10 min readDec 17, 2021

--

It takes a village to raise a child.

I had a very different experience of growing up in the United States. I wasn’t overscheduled, except when I was doing it to myself. My parents didn’t arrange playdates beyond calling my friends’ parents to ask if their child was available. When guests came to the house, I usually hung out in my room or downstairs, until I was old enough to quietly join the adults socializing upstairs.

Those things were strange enough compared with my peers, but I think the biggest difference between my upbringing and many of my friends was that my parents, at least for some of my childhood, had a support village. Sometimes more than one support village.

My mom was just recently telling me about a group she was visiting and socializing with that realized she needed a ‘mommy break’ and that literally every time I asked for something, or she mentioned I might need something, another adult got up and make sure I was taken care of. This was perfectly normal to me since this was a group of adults I trusted even if I didn’t know them well.

--

--

Rhiannin Bunney
GEN
Writer for

I’m a freelance writer interested in politics, society, and life in general. I’m here to think, explore, and learn.