What If My Mother Had An Abortion

Who might she have been?

Carvell Wallace
GEN

--

I was born in the fall of 1974. My mother was a teenager when she became pregnant with me. Living in a small blue-collar town in Western Pennsylvania, about a year after Roe v Wade had been decided, she found herself with child and without many options. Abortion, while newly legal at the time, was still nothing easy to come by. In 1972 when my mother was still in high school, abortion was still unequivocally against the law in her home state. According to a 2003 report by Rachel Benson Gold of the Guttmacher Institute, “…from 1972 to 1974, the mortality rate due to illegal abortion for nonwhite women was 12 times that for white women.”

I was born. My mother had me. It is unclear, however, whether or not she wanted to have me, or whether she simply felt she had no better choice. It is unclear if my mother was able to fully consent to my birth. While she was alive, it never occurred to me to ask her.

Often times so called “pro-lifers” will say “If your mother had an abortion then you wouldn’t be here.” What this inane argument misses is the possibility if my mother had an abortion, she might still be here.

What might her life had been without me? Might she have had time to grow up in her own time, figure out who she was, make sense of herself as a Black woman, the youngest of nineteen children from the same mother? (How consensual were those births, I can’t help but wonder.) Might she have had the space to deal with her mental health…

--

--

Carvell Wallace
GEN
Writer for

This is where I experiment. This is where I learn to write.