Drew Magary

Please God, No Phones at the Table

For the love of family and country, do not bring your device to dinner

Drew Magary
GEN
Published in
6 min readAug 19, 2019

--

Credit: skynesher/Getty Images

II know you nominally come to this site for aggressively seasoned political takes, but as the summer winds down and the crushing routines of both the work and school years kick back in, I’d like you to make room on your plate for a spicy take of a different sort. But before you dig in, I have one simple request: put your fucking phone down.

During the last school year, my 13-year-old went to gymnastics practice every night from 4:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. She’d arrive home VERY hungry, which happens when you spend four hours doing strength exercises and contorting your body into an ankh in midair. So I would dutifully prepare a meal for her well after the rest of the family had eaten, and have that food hot and ready when she walked in the door. More often than not, she would try to eat dinner while watching Netflix on her phone, headphones included. That’s when I would cease being a loving father and morph into a miniature despot.

“No phones at the table, man!”

“But I’m eating alone!”

“Talk to me instead! I’ll sit with you. We can talk about your day!”

--

--

Drew Magary
GEN
Writer for

Columnist at GEN. Co-founder, Defector. Author of Point B.